Midway through Co-Op + Conference preiew

rhino

I’m at the halfway point in my Co-Op. I had my(informal)  first quarter Co-Op review, where my manager sat down with me and talked about my performance for the past 3 months. She did mention beforehand that there wouldn’t be anything bad brought up, because if there was anything that I was doing wrong or not up to expectation I would have already been told about it. I don’t want to gloat about myself, but the comments were pretty positive! It’s always good to have your hard work noticed. It puts a smile on my face, anyway.

  •  I’m fitting in well with the others in the design group
  • My “AHA” moments are easy to see (I think this is good…) and it shows that I am very open-minded about what design actually touches in the real world.
  • Accuracy and Efficiency: I’m doing everything that I’m  supposed to, and playing well with others.  I’m keeping up with all of my responsibilities and project without the need of micro-managing.
  • The emergency needs that I have met have been very helpful, and completed in a timely manner.
  • I have been a great fresh pair of eyes, in that I have identified new opportunities for Oral Care (and P&G) to consider.
  • I have taken good initiative to get exposure to areas outside of Oral Care Design. I have scheduled lots of meetings with people outside  Oral Care Design, both in and outside of the design function, something that no CoOp has ever done before.
  • I’m doing a good job adding “Corporate Spunk” to the culture

Like I said, I’m not usually one to gloat, so I’ll share some of the areas that I will be improving over the next 3 months:

  • Now that I know the P&G strategy of design, I need to use it and make it visible that I am doing so.
  • I have learned that it is very important to “frame” conversations and presentations, and that is something that I will be practicing.

This was the overall feedback that I got. Design-specific feedback to come soon.

Now for a quick check on my goals since January:

  1. Impress the hell out of everyone.  I think I’m doing this pretty well. I constantly look around and have renewed excitement. I’ve introduced new tools and technologies to the group, identified opportunity space and gone after it, and I’ve shared my sense of fun. I’ve ideated some cool ideas that we hope to get tested soon, and I’ve come through for the team in emergency situations. I’d say I’ve impressed them.
  2. Get a great experience. I can’t really describe how much I’ve learned here… it’s that much. From the way corporations interact with design agencies to the way design business in general is run… Wow. I’m learning so much.
  3. Make lots of friends. I’d consider all the people that I work with to be my friends, and I’ve made lots of professional relationships her, too. There aren’t as many design Co-ops here, so I haven’t really done too much hanging with them

Other stuff

  • take pictures. check
  • explore Cincinnati. check
  • go skiing. check
  • Go explore other cities… and sleep in my car to avoid paying for a hotel. (I want to hit Indianapolis, and Chicago for sure.) I’ve been talked out of sleeping in my car, and I’m waiting for it to get warmer before hitting Chicago
  • Go to the IDSA Southern District Conference It’s tomorrow! So excited.
  • Spend some time with the design kids at the University of Cincinnati. I’ve done some, but not enough. They are very busy, so it’s hard to get them to tell me where the party is at
  • Join the gym inside (that’s right, inside) the P&G building and get a workout going I joined a gym down the road. Woah! Adam has an exercise routine?!
  • Try my hand at Expressionist painting. Uh… waiting for the warm weekend so I don’t have to paint in a nasty garage.

NEW Goals for the New Quarter

  • By the time I leave, I want the team to winder what the heck they are going to do without me. Become indispensable.
  • Continue to train for the Peachtree Road Race. I want to run the whole 10k without having to walk.
  • Get to see more multifunction partners. My manager is giving me some names for this.
  • Get some work lined up for after June.
  • Go to the roller coaster park that is literally right down the road from me.
  • Practice some jazz trumpet playing

 PS Sorry for the typos. They happen.

OK, this post is getting long, so I’ll start wrapping up. IDSA Southern Distric Conference is tomorrow! Amidst the flurry of portfolio preperation, I can’t wait to see my ID@GT friends! Unfortunately they won’t all be there, so I’ll see them in early May. It’s going to be a great conference, and I’m going to have a great time.

Leave a Reply

