Watch out vegetarians, this is a meaty post

below is a picture of a Luther Burger. Gaze upon it and weep. wow.

Whew. Made it to another weekend.

I’ve been working on a project that’s very product design- centric. That’s not to say that the other stuff I’ve done so far has no relevancy to design; that’s not it at all.
It’s just that this project in particular is exactly the type of stuff I did in studio. (Sorry, no details on what the project actually is. Let’s just say it is more conceptual, and involves a lot of sketching).
At Tech the SOP was to have periodic pin ups of our sketches and to get feedback from the class. So it was pretty refreshing to get to do just that with my manager today. But, of course, she brought in some new perspectives on how to do “Pin-ups: the P&G way.” Yuck, that sounds awfully corporate and dry. But it was actually pretty insightful.
Before we started talking about my sketches, she asked me what “Decision Criteria” I was looking for. In other words, she wanted to know what kinds of qualities made for a concept to be noteworthy in this exercise.
I think that this is a step that is usually skipped when having pin-up sessions. Too often, the designer just starts explaining his/her ideas, and then the peers just give feedback based on whatever strikes them. Favorites are chosen, sometimes arbitrarily, and good ideas can be dropped just because the “herd mentality” takes over after one person says something negative about a proposal.
The “framing” that we did only took a few minutes, but it made it very easy for both of us to figure out which were the best proposals to go forward with. I hope I can remember to do this with all my pin-ups both at P&G, and back at Tech (and then, who knows?). Bravo to you, Mystery Manager!
After the rundown of ideas and the inevitable bounce-ideas-off-of-each-other session that designers get so excited about, She had another tip from the book of “Pin-ups: the P&G way.”
We took a step back and noticed that there were some common themes in my ideas. So I put all the sketches on the table and put them in their naturally occurring clusters. From these clusters, the real concepts and opportunities were drawn.
Okay, so… the common theme thing happens a LOT in conceptual design… but the new spin was the “bucket.” That’s what the P&G term for the clusters is. It sounds kind of goofy, but I hear it from a bunch of different people.
But hey, I’m sure my love for Ckick-fil-a, Hartsfield-Jackson Airport, and all things Atlanta are just as odd.

Whew. Big day today. And an exciting one, too. I love that energy and excitement that comes from collaborating . But now that it’s almost 6PM on a Friday, I’m excited to play some games on my PS2, go to the gym, and eat cereal while watching Huluat 2 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

