End of Summer

Well, the summer design internship at Resource, LLC is over. I learned a lot, laughed a lot, and slept… well, about average (for me)

I learned:

some things to do/not to do about running a company

  • be nice to your employees, and make them feel happy because productivity is a lot better
  • don’t stay up all night
  • It’s all about who you know, and the art of the SALE
  • be energetic and other people will be, too (lead by example)
  • No apologies

I beefed up my weakest area of design (the 2D genre commonly referred to as graphic/web design) and that is a worthwhile achievement

I got to keep my sketching/designing skills from getting rusty by participating in a bunch of design projects

I got to be a part of starting a company. That was really cool. I don’t know how many people get to be a part of that in their lives.

We designed a built a BUNCH of stuff. We helped a lot of people. Plus, we got full access to the shop. And I learned a lot about the importance of an internet presence.

I helped create the corporate culture, and even ran reviews of our workflow (lovingly called “Efficiency Summits”). This resulted in a BUNCH of great innovations, like the 2:30 photoshoot, which serves to re-energize everybody right before the otherwise inevitable mid-day slump.

3719456033_4e2397806d

We had great times, and stressful times. We learned a lot and had a lot of fun. This was a very beneficial summer.

Leave a Reply

